Final Reflection

Final Reflection

by Shirly Coc -
Number of replies: 0

At the start of this session, there were several items that I was a bit familiar with as I had signed up previously for a course on the C-Delta platform. Although I did not complete that course, being in this one made me more aware and made me get a better understanding of the terms that was mentioned in the modules. As an IT teacher, I feel that this course makes me better informed and more cautious of the decisions I make online, as well as it has given me the opportunity to use more tools I was introduced to.

Over the past two years, my school had increased the number of computers on campus. I was very excited since I knew this meant that more students would be able to access the internet especially for completing assignments. Although I did not have any training yet, I have always been very cautious of what I post and search for online. One of the main things I have been trying to instil in my students, is to be aware of the content they upload and share on social media, mainly because, as a Business Teacher too, and a former HR Assistant, I have seen how social media is used as a form of referencing for potential employees.

Since I was recommended for this course, I found it even more interesting since I knew someone would be available to guide us through this process. And once enrolled and attending meetings, I learnt various tools that would be able to assist me in my online sessions. I must say that the very first time I learnt about Mentimeter was during one of our live sessions. That same evening I went online to research and practice how to use it. The following day I was able to use this as a form of check-in activity with my students. I must say that I believe the tools we were introduced to has helped me greatly in my lessons.